Local School Graduate Receives $1,000 Scholarship

Local School Graduate Receives $1,000 Scholarship
Pelican CEO Jeffrey K. Conrad, Caroline Taylor and Member and Guest Relations Officer, Melanie Dupard


DENHAM SPRINGS, LOUISIANA – Denham Springs High School graduate Caroline Taylor was awarded a $1,000 scholarship from Pelican State Credit Union.

Caroline is a member of Pelican State Credit Union located at 145 Rushing Road in Denham Springs, Louisiana. She is one of 10 college-bound students across the state to receive this award from Pelican, which grants up to $10,000 in scholarships each year.

Caroline served as Senior Class President and was a four-year member of the Girls’ Varsity Basketball team. Her extracurricular activities included DECA Club, Mu Alpha Theta, Anchor Club and Senior National Honors Society. Her volunteer work consisted of fundraising for Assess the Need and rebuilding businesses and churches in Livingston Parish after the flood. She plans to pursue a degree at Rhodes College and return to Louisiana for medical school.

 “We’re beyond excited to continue our commitment to our graduating high school members’ education and to our communities with the Team Pelican scholarship Award Program,” said Pelican CEO Jeffrey K. Conrad.

A volunteer committee made up of Pelican employees scored the scholarship applications based on academic achievement, extracurricular activities, leadership, community service and letters of recommendation. 

Pelican’s Scholarship Award Program was founded 10 years ago and is one of the many reasons why it pays to be a member of Pelican. Team Pelican youth account savings account holders benefit from not only scholarship award eligibility but also monetary rewards for good grades on their report cards each semester.

Scholarship applications are accepted from January – March each year. For more information on eligibility and the application process, call 1-800-351-4877 or visit pelicanstatecu.com/teampelican.

LP 2017 Scholarship Recipient

Pictured from left to right are Pelican CEO Jeffrey K. Conrad, Caroline Taylor and Member and Guest Relations Officer Melanie Dupard.

Notice of Discrimination

The Livingston Parish School Board does not discriminate on the basis of age, race, religion, national origin, disability or gender in its educational programs and activities (including employment and application for employment), and it is prohibited from discriminating on the basis of gender by Title IX (20 USC 168) and on the basis of disability by Section 504 (42 USC 794). The Title IX Coordinator is Stephen Parrill

Livingston Parish Public Schools is committed to ensuring that all websites and web applications, both public-facing and for internal use, conform to Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (W.C.A.G.) 2.0 Level AA. Any issues should be reported toLPWebAccessibility@lpsb.org. (stephen.parrill@lpsb.org), Assistant Superintendent, P.O. Box 1130, Livingston, LA 70754; Phone (225) 686-7044. The Special Education Director is Dr. Eric Penalber (eric.penalber@lpsb.org); the LPPS 504 Coordinator is Monica Sullivan (monica.sullivan33@lpsb.org), P.O. Box 1130 Livingston, LA 70754; Phone (225)686-4248.

Fight Fraud, Waste and Abuse